This resource is new and under continual improvement. Please let us know if you experience any bugs or issues.

Budgeting and Accounting [TOP]

Beyond Budgeting Case Study – Favi http://www.slideshare.net/beyondbudgetingnet/en-beyond-budgeting-case-study-favi-france
Lean Accounting: Does IT Need a Time Out on Time Tracking? https://leankit.com/blog/2017/01/lean-accounting-time-tracking/
Your Agile Project Needs a Budget, Not an Estimate https://hbr.org/2014/12/your-agile-project-needs-a-budget-not-an-estimate

Culture [TOP]

5 Questions to Ask About Corporate Culture to Get Beyond the Usual Meaningless Blather https://hbr.org/2017/06/5-questions-to-ask-about-corporate-culture-to-get-beyond-the-usual-meaningless-blather
Driven away by hypocrisy: when endorsing a caring workplace backfires for leaders http://bps-occupational-digest.blogspot.ca/2012/11/driven-away-by-hypocrisy-when-endorsing.html
HBR How Employee Engagement Hits the Bottom Line http://blogs.hbr.org/schwartz/2012/11/creating-sustainable-employee.html
How Damaging Is a Bad Boss, Exactly? – Jack Zenger and Joseph Folkman http://blogs.hbr.org/cs/2012/07/how_damaging_is_a_bad_boss_exa.html
Strategies for Learning from Failure – Amy C. Edmondson http://hbr.org/2011/04/strategies-for-learning-from-failure/ar/pr

Failure Modes [TOP]

12 Failure Modes in Agile Transformation https://www.rallydev.com/blog/agile/12-failure-modes-agile-transformation
12 Failure Modes in Agile Transformation: Congruency https://www.rallydev.com/blog/agile/12-failure-modes-agile-transformation-congruency
12 Failure Modes in Agile Transformation: Transition https://www.rallydev.com/blog/agile-coaching/12-failure-modes-agile-transformation-transition
12 Failure Modes in Agile Transformation: Workflow https://www.rallydev.com/blog/agile/12-failure-modes-agile-transformation-workflow
Rolling Out Agile in a Large Enterprise https://www.computer.org/csdl/proceedings/hicss/2008/3075/00/30750461-abs.html
Seven Pitfalls to Avoid During Organizational Transformation https://www.thoughtworks.com/insights/blog/seven-pitfalls-avoid-during-organizational-transformation
Six Common Mistakes That Salesforce.com Didn’t Make http://www.forbes.com/sites/stevedenning/2011/04/18/six-common-mistakes-that-salesforce-com-didnt-make/
State of Agile Report http://stateofagile.versionone.com/

General Leadership [TOP]

Agile Talent Management http://leadinganswers.typepad.com/leading_answers/2015/10/agile-talent-management.html
An operating model for company-wide agile development http://www.mckinsey.com/business-functions/business-technology/our-insights/an-operating-model-for-company-wide-agile-development
Executives and Safety – “Get it done” Individuals https://theitriskmanager.wordpress.com/2017/04/01/executives-and-safety/
Good Leaders Are Good Learners https://hbr.org/2017/08/good-leaders-are-good-learners
How do you motivate employees? – Summary of Herzberg theory http://maaw.info/ArticleSummaries/ArtSumHerzberg6803.htm
What is an Agile Leader? http://blog.crisp.se/2015/11/10/henrikkniberg/what-is-an-agile-leader
General Leadership Books

Hiring [TOP]

Interview Humiliation http://deliberate-software.com/on-defeat/
The Problem with Using Personality Tests for Hiring https://hbr.org/2014/08/the-problem-with-using-personality-tests-for-hiring

Metrics and Measurement [TOP]

30+ Metrics for Agile Software Development Teams https://www.frontrowagile.com/blog/posts/69-30-metrics-for-agile-software-development-teams
Agile Metrics http://dhondtsayitsagile.blogspot.ca/2012/10/agile-metrics.html
Agile Metrics: The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly https://dzone.com/articles/agile-metricsthe-good-the-bad-and-the-ugly
Agile Teams: Don’t use happiness metrics, measure Team Morale http://blog.agilistic.nl/agile-teams-dont-use-happiness-metrics-measure-team-morale/
An Appropriate Use of Metrics http://martinfowler.com/articles/useOfMetrics.html
Be careful how often you measure http://thinkpurpose.com/2014/05/21/why-scorecards-are-as-dangerous-as-michael-jacksons-personal-doctor/
Bell Curves and Measuring Badly https://agilepainrelief.com/notesfromatooluser/2016/03/bell-curves-and-measuring-badly.html
Beyond the Happy Bubble https://sites.google.com/a/scrumplop.org/published-patterns/product-organization-pattern-language/beyond-the-happy-bubble
Cycle Time and Lead Time https://agilecomplexificationinverter.blogspot.ca/2016/12/cycle-time-and-lead-time.html
Data driven coaching – Agile 2016 http://www.slideshare.net/FocusedObjective/data-driven-coaching-agile-2016-troy-magennis
Excel Spreadsheet for Hyperproductive Scrum Teams http://www.scruminc.com/update-excel-spreadsheet-for/
Happiness Metric – The Wave of the Future https://www.scruminc.com/happiness-metric-wave-of-future-2/
How Accountants Kill Innovation http://timkastelle.org/blog/2010/03/how-accountants-kill-innovation
I’m Sorry, But Those Are Vanity Metrics http://firstround.com/review/im-sorry-but-those-are-vanity-metrics/
If You Can’t Measure It, You’d Better Manage It http://www.mintzberg.org/blog/measure-it-manage-it
Linear Thinking in a Nonlinear World https://hbr.org/2017/05/linear-thinking-in-a-nonlinear-world
Measurement for Scrum – What are Appropriate Measures? https://agilepainrelief.com/notesfromatooluser/2016/09/measurement-for-scrum-what-are-appropriate-measures.html
Measuring Happiness on the Team: What is Crisp? http://blog.crisp.se/2010/05/08/henrikkniberg/what-is-crisp
Measuring Team Performance http://www.innolution.com/blog/team-performance-measures
Metrics don’t have to be evil http://focusedobjective.com/metrics-dont-evil/
Metrics for Agile http://www.estherderby.com/2011/10/metrics-for-agile.html
Patrick Kau – on the Appropriate Use of Metrics http://martinfowler.com/articles/useOfMetrics.html
Red, Yellow, Green or RYG/RAG Reports: How They Hide the Truth https://agilepainrelief.com/notesfromatooluser/2015/10/red-yellow-green-or-rygrag-reports-how-they-hide-the-truth.html
Scrumming the Scrum (the use of happiness as a Metric in Retrospectives) https://sites.google.com/a/scrumplop.org/published-patterns/retrospective-pattern-language/scrumming-the-scrum
Simplicity https://agilepainrelief.com/notesfromatooluser/2016/03/simplicity.html
Solving the Hairy Problem of Team Dependencies https://github.com/FocusedObjective/FocusedObjective.Resources/blob/master/Presentations/Agile%202015%20-%20Entangled%20-%20Solving%20the%20Hairy%20Problem%20of%20Team%20Dependencies%20(Troy%20Magennis).pdf [PDF warning!]
Team Metrics – Case Study https://agilecomplexificationinverter.blogspot.ca/2016/06/team-metrics-case-study.html
The Agile Acid Test http://testobsessed.com/2010/12/the-agile-acid-test/
The Happiness metric and a few others http://blog.crisp.se/2011/10/19/anderslaestadius/the-happiness-metric-and-a-few-others
The Impact of Lean and Agile Quantified: 2014 https://www.infoq.com/presentations/agile-quantify
Vanity Metrics vs. Actionable Metrics http://fourhourworkweek.com/2009/05/19/vanity-metrics-vs-actionable-metrics/
Why Vanity Metrics are Dangerous: Holding a Mirror Up to Your Measures of Success http://leankit.com/blog/2016/03/why-vanity-metrics-are-dangerous-holding-a-mirror-up-to-your-measures-of-success/
Forecasting Tools
Metrics and Measurement Books

Ongoing Organizational Improvement [TOP]

The Gravity of $70K: What Actually Happened at Gravity Payments https://gravitypayments.com/thegravityof70k/#infographic-1
Improvement Stories

Open Offices [TOP]

6 Psych Tips For Creating The Ideal Workspace http://www.spring.org.uk/2013/09/6-psych-tips-for-creating-the-ideal-workspace.php
Google got it wrong. The open-office trend is destroying the workplace. https://www.washingtonpost.com/posteverything/wp/2014/12/30/google-got-it-wrong-the-open-office-trend-is-destroying-the-workplace/
Privacy and Communication in an Open-Plan Office A Case Study http://eab.sagepub.com/content/14/3/379.abstract?ijkey=a4bd32e9ad2d0a3258b9a0efe80ff2b1695e6f14&keytype2=tf_ipsecsha
The Open-Office Trap http://www.newyorker.com/business/currency/the-open-office-trap
The supposed benefits of open-plan offices do not outweigh the costs http://bps-research-digest.blogspot.ca/2013/08/the-supposed-benefits-of-open-plan.html
Why The Open Office Makes You Distracted, Exhausted, And Insecure http://www.businessinsider.com/why-the-open-office-makes-you-distracted-exhausted-and-insecure-2014-4
Workspace satisfaction: The privacy-communication trade-off in open-plan offices http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0272494413000340

Pay for Performance [TOP]

Bogus Bonuses and C.E.O. Salaries – Dan Ariely http://danariely.com/2012/10/06/3668/
Observations From a Tipless Restaurant, Part 3: How Tipping Promotes Bad Service http://jayporter.com/dispatches/observations-from-a-tipless-restaurant-part-3/
Prosocial Bonuses

Performance Reviews [TOP]

A Quick Rundown on Performance Reviews http://agileotter.blogspot.ca/2015/07/a-quick-rundown-on-performance.html
Accenture will get rid of annual performance reviews and rankings http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/on-leadership/wp/2015/07/21/in-big-move-accenture-will-get-rid-of-annual-performance-reviews-and-rankings/
An Alternative to Performance Reviews http://blog.protegra.com/2013/01/04/a-systems-thinking-alternative-to-performance-reviews/
Case Study: What Really Happens When Companies Remove Ratings https://neuroleadership.com/portfolio-items/pm-report-removing-ratings/
It’s Time to Kill the Performance Review http://nymag.com/scienceofus/2015/05/time-to-revamp-the-performance-review.html?mid=twitter-share-scienceofus
Microsoft Drops Stack Ranking http://microsoft-news.com/microsoft-abolishes-stack-ranking-system-employee-evaluation-process/
Personal development at Spotify https://labs.spotify.com/2013/11/21/personal-development-at-spotify/
Quotes from “Get Rid of the Performance Review!” http://www.keystepstosuccess.com/2016/02/quotes-from-get-rid-of-the-performance-review-how-companies-can-stop-intimidating-start-managing-and-focus-on-what-really-matters-by-culbert-samuel-a-laurence-rout/
Stack Ranking and the damage done at Microsoft http://www.vanityfair.com/news/2012/07/microsoft-downfall-emails-steve-ballmer
The corporate kabuki of performance reviews http://www.washingtonpost.com/national/on-leadership/the-corporate-kabuki-of-performance-reviews/2013/02/14/59b60e86-7624-11e2-aa12-e6cf1d31106b_story.html
The Truth about Performance Reviews and Other Corporate Bullsh*t https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/truth-performance-reviews-other-corporate-bullsht-liz-ryan
What Really Happens When Companies Remove Ratings (Case Study) https://neuroleadership.com/portfolio-items/pm-report-removing-ratings/
Why GE had to kill its annual performance reviews after more than three decades https://qz.com/428813/ge-performance-review-strategy-shift/
Why More and More Companies Are Ditching Performance Ratings https://hbr.org/2015/09/why-more-and-more-companies-are-ditching-performance-ratings
Performance Reviews Books

Reporting [TOP]

AgileEVM – Earned Value Management in Scrum Projects http://www.solutionsiq.com/docs/earned-value-analysis-in-scrum-projects-wp.pdf [PDF warning!]
AgileEVM: Measuring Cost Efficiency Across the Product Lifecycle https://www.infoq.com/articles/agile-evm

Tours of Agile Companies [TOP]

A Day In The Life At Pivotal Labs https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5h-zsDXQH_8
Marc P Summers visit to the Infusionsoft Headquarters 2013 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OuheSYveeX4

Transformation and Transitions [TOP]

A culture that attracts quality candidates http://radianttiger.com/2015/04/20/a-culture-that-attracts-quality-candidates/
How Google changed a Development Culture from avoiding Test in Development to embracing it and test automation https://mike-bland.com/2012/07/10/test-mercenaries.html
Three Organisational Transformation Modes https://salfreudenberg.wordpress.com/2014/03/21/three-organisational-transformation-modes/
Transformation from the top? How about engagement on the ground? http://www.mintzberg.org/blog/transformation-from-the-top-how-about-engagement-on-the-ground
What Managers Can Do To Support Agile Transformations http://www.infoq.com/articles/managers-support-agile-transformation
Why We Hate Change http://www.liquidplanner.com/blog/why-we-hate-to-change/
Transformation and Transitions Books
Show